- By Jami Gray

Shadow's Edge

  • Title: Shadow's Edge
  • Author: Jami Gray
  • ISBN: null
  • Page: 427
  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • Shadow s Edge Everyone fears what hunts in the shadows especially the monsters It takes a monster to hunt one and for Raine McCord forged in the maelstrom of magic and science she s the one for the job In a worl

    Everyone fears what hunts in the shadows especially the monsters.It takes a monster to hunt one, and for Raine McCord, forged in the maelstrom of magic and science, she s the one for the job In a world where the supernatural live in a shadowy existence with the mundane, a series of disappearances and deaths threatens the secrecy of her kind and indicates someone knows theEveryone fears what hunts in the shadows especially the monsters.It takes a monster to hunt one, and for Raine McCord, forged in the maelstrom of magic and science, she s the one for the job In a world where the supernatural live in a shadowy existence with the mundane, a series of disappearances and deaths threatens the secrecy of her kind and indicates someone knows the monsters are alive and kicking Partnering up with the sexy and tantalizing Gavin Durand proves to be a challenge as dangerous as the prey she hunts.When the trail points back to the foundation which warped Raine s magic as a child, her torturous past raises its ugly head Gavin and Raine sift through a maze of lies, murder and betrayal to discover not only each other, but the emerging threat to them and the entire magical community.

    1 thought on “Shadow's Edge

    1. What a wonderful book. Awesome characters. I loved Raine. Such a tough cookie. And that Gavin. Whew!! **fans self** I can't wait to see where things go with them. Jami teased us with a glimpse into their romance, and I hope it heats up in book two, because they are just an awesome pair. :) Nicely done, Jami Gray!!

    2. Raine is a Wraith, who has a terrible past life and works to kill the bad boys of the Kyn (supernatural beings) society. While she fights her own nightmares and prefers to live alone in her mental fortress, she was ordered by her boss to partner for her next case with Gavin, a very attractive, mysterious Kyn. Raine is trying hard to resist the charm boy, but you know how fate plays. Raine has to come clean with her past, face the truth and win the love of Gavin. But the case she is working with [...]

    3. Urban Fantasy isn't a genre I usually read. Shadow's Edge is only the second one I've read and I thoroughly enjoyed it.Raine, a Wraith, is the heroine, strong, capable and wise, she has some terrifying baggage from her earlier years that is always whispering in her ear. She works for an organization that takes out undesirables from the Kyn society and gets thrown together with hot, sexy Gavin to work her next case. I loved the paranormal aspect of the book. Jami Gray's imagination was in full fo [...]

    4. I highly recommend this book for those looking for a strong heroine to follow in an urban fantasy! I loved Raine--she was her own womanne of that too stupid to live/needs a man to breathe sort of stuff. :) Can't wait to sink my teeth into the second book!

    5. Review originally published on V's Book LifeFirst Line: 'With a quick twist of her wrist, Raine slipped the blade between Quinn’s ribs. His heart gave one last desperate beat then fell silent. He slid slowly down her body to his knees, ending up in a strange, lover-like tableau.'We start this book at the end of a battle, a fight that thankfully our heroine Raine has won. Her hands still shake after killing someone, something she believes still distinguishes her from the monsters she hunts. Wit [...]

    6. I love supernatural/paranormal books. Why? Because I love the idea of the unexplainable being possible. The world that Shadow's Edge encompases is one in which humans are almost completely in the dark about the existence of the Kyn, supernatural beings: wizards, witches, demons, and shifters. Raine is part Fey, but she's also something more. Tortured, experimented upon, and changed by horrific acts that took her mother's life, she's not entirely anything any more. Gavin is another Fey. He was an [...]

    7. Raine's character is the best part of this novel. She is on her own through a lot of the novel. The reader will get the feeling that Raine is smart and brave. Some readers might think she didn't necessarily need Gavin. Gavin's character was nice enough, the author did a good job of making him likable to the reader. He followed the "bad boy" stereotype. The romance budding between them was enjoyable, but almost didn't seem necessary to the story. The action scenes were perfect. The reader will lo [...]

    8. Shadow"s Edge Book 1Raine (who is part Fey and something else) and her mother were experimented on when Raine was only 15. Unfortunately Raines mom does not make it out of alive from the lab. With the help from Raines uncle she is able to escape her captivates and leave lap behind.Raine is now a Black ops agent, where she is in charge of any threats to the Kyn commuity which is all the paranormal in the area. Raine works Security as her cover job during the day for Taliesin Security. When she is [...]

    9. Move SHADOW’S EDGE to the top of your reading list!If I could, I’d give a rating of 4.95 stars. I am not usually attracted to the urban fantasy genre, but Shadow’s Edge by Jami Gray changed my expectations, and has set a very high bar for other authors to reach in the same genre. I bought Gray’s book to support her as an author and was amazed to see what an incredible story had been awaiting me. My expectation was to run into a cast of characters that could be easily classified into ligh [...]

    10. Abducted with her mom, fifteen year old Raine MCcord fought her attackers, but in the end she became a lab rat. They injected, took samples of her blood and skin before she was rescued by her uncle who had hoped to save his half sister instead of her, at least she felt that way as he never showed signs of love toward her. At thirty, she had trained hard to keep the nightmares away and to become one of the twelve Wraiths working for Taliesin Security as a security officer where she protected Kyn [...]

    11. I LOVED this book. Yes I capped the word. If there's a word beyond awesome, then that's what I'll use to describe it. The heroine, Raine rocked from the very beginning. Being a tough kick ass female had to be one of my favorite aspects of the story. But when Ms. Gray added more than kicks, punches and slashes , the depth and intensity increased phenomenally. Raine’s past carved her into who she is. Oh the emotions Ms. Gray portrayed from Raine. I could feel her pain and anguish and wanted to g [...]

    12. So at first I thought this book was going to drag on but after first couple of chapters it really started to pick up and I started getting really hooked. I really liked the story line, it was something different from other paranormal books that I have read and that was nice. I am looking forward to reading more in the series and find out if things get a little better for Raine. I felt so sad for her a lot of times, so much she had to endure and really from what you read not a lot of support. All [...]

    13. There was never a dull moment in this book. I was thrown into a world where the author brings everything alive for you. I found myself trying to discover the mystery right along with the main characters. I found myself yelling at Raine when she couldn't see what was right in front of her. I can't wait for book 2 I want to be a part of her growth. She's a bad a** hunter with major confidence until it comes to personal self esteem. She has so many walls up I can't wait to see who she decides she c [...]

    14. First, I would like to thank the author Jami Gray for giving me this book for an honest review. I enjoyed reading this story very much. The storyline is good. The characters are well defined and written, I love Raine she is a very strong main female character. The paranormal community is known as Kyn and has four main groups. I love paranormal and urban fantasy, the author has done a great job with the world building. I am looking forward to reading the next book in the series.

    15. I was a little unsure about this book, but truth be told, I ended up loving it. It was fast paced, amazing fight scenes, good myth building. Gray answered just enough questions to satisfy you but left lots of threads unraveled to keep the reader coming back. I definitely wanted more resolution in one particular spot! I think this series has a lot of potential in the paranormal romance department.

    16. This book was amazing!!! I read it from start to finish in a couple days, because I just couldn't bring myself to put it down. This isn't just a tough girl fighting to survive in her world, who meets an equally intriguing man, this is a book with a whole intricate, fantasy world. I definitely recommend it to anyone!

    17. Shadow's Edge is a great opening to what looks to be an amazing series. Light on romance, big on mystery and conflict, this book grabbed me from the start and never disappointed along the way.Fans of Patricia Briggs Mercy Thompsonseries and Kim Harrison's Rachel Morganseries will enjoy the introduction to the paranormal world created by Jami Gray.

    18. I really enjoyed this book and went to enjoy the next book as well Jami has worked hard in her world creation that I thoroughly enjoyed. If you enjoyed Stacey Brutger's book Electric Storm you might enjoy this one as it has the same feel to it.

    19. Love Action NovelsThis was a very intriguing novel full of action, adventure, suspense and building anticipation of romance. Raine, I'm sure will turn out to be totally awesome in time. Gavin is mysterious and sexy. Definitely looking forward to more of him. The whole paranormal sci-fi mix novels are always interesting as anything is possible. The storyline was good.

    20. Very good, a few typos, but nothing major. I liked how Raine finally seemed to accept who she was, kinda. She still carries way too much guilt and distrust- would have liked to see this improve- maybe in book 2. Good supporting secondary characters.

    21. A strong debut book. Good world building, a hot hero, and a heroine you want to emulate, and to hug in comfort

    22. Excellent bookMad scientists, shape shifters and all things that go bump in the night or day. Excellent characters and an exciting story of magic and mayhem. Loved it.

    23. Independent reviewer for Archaeolibrarian.* A copy of this book was provided to me with no requirements for a review. I voluntarily read this book, and my comments here are my honest opinion. *Raine and Gavin are Kyn, more so, they are Wraith, an elite warrior with in the Kyn similar to the human Black Ops teams. Gavin is a Witch, Raine is Fey, but Raine is much much more, thanks (not really the right word though!) to being a test subject she really didn't want any part of. Called to investigate [...]

    24. Uncaged Book Reviews:This is a non-stop action book, and if you like the paranormal action, with a sprinkling of romance, you will enjoy these books. This was my first book that I read from Jami Gray, and definitely won’t be the last. There are suspenseful elements, well-written action sequences and a developing romance.

    25. An interesting concept for a book - scientists experimenting on races they don't understand. Oh, wait we did that - WWII. A possible good series, though.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *