- By Craig Smith

The Horse Changer

  • Title: The Horse Changer
  • Author: Craig Smith
  • ISBN: 9781910183137
  • Page: 140
  • Format: Paperback
  • The Horse Changer Follow the intelligent and compellingly chequered career of a little known participant in Rome s civil wars Dellius distinguishes himself in Caesar s Spanish war against Pompey becomes a tribune of c

    Follow the intelligent and compellingly chequered career of a little known participant in Rome s civil wars Dellius distinguishes himself in Caesar s Spanish war against Pompey, becomes a tribune of cavalry in Caesar s army, and looks forward to an assured and glittering career But when his hero is assassinated, the Roman republic is plunged into chaos as both his heirs aFollow the intelligent and compellingly chequered career of a little known participant in Rome s civil wars Dellius distinguishes himself in Caesar s Spanish war against Pompey, becomes a tribune of cavalry in Caesar s army, and looks forward to an assured and glittering career But when his hero is assassinated, the Roman republic is plunged into chaos as both his heirs and enemies jostle for power In the civil wars that follow, Dellius is soon caught up in a maelstrom of shifting allegiances, and the young soldier will need to discover reserves of both tenacity and ruthlessness if he is to survive As he journeys from the orgiastic salons of Rome s Palatine Hill to the Palaces of Alexandria, the rocky fortresses of Judea and the bloody field of Philippi, he manages to incur the enmity both of Egypt s queen and Rome s future emperor, but also to snare the affections of a beautiful and cunning young senator s wife, Livia Drusilla This epic cast of historical greats, which includes Julius Caesar, Octavian, Mark Antony, Horace, Cassius Longinus, Cleopatra, Herod the Great, and the future empress, Livia, will appeal to readers of Robert Harris, Robert Graves, James Clavell, and Hilary Mantel.

    1 thought on “The Horse Changer

    1. I won pleased to have won this book in a First Reads giveaway. Although won some time ago, it did get buried under a huge pile of other books. This was an excellent novel and one that I feel would make a good movie. One of those books that I didn't want to end! I rarely write what a story is about for fear of spoiling for others, but I do recommend.

    2. I ordered a copy of The Horse Changer as a lover of the Augustan age despite the fact that it generally got mediocre reviews on the sites I viewed it on. Having read the book, I'm afraid that I must join the voices before me that gave it a resounding "meh."It's not that it's a bad book (I've definitely read things about the Augustan age that are way, way worse), but it's not particularly exciting. It follows the story of a fellow named Quintus Dellius, a commander called "the horse changer" by h [...]

    3. I was given a free copy of this book by .This book is a wonderfully detailed account of the life of Quintus Dellius covering 49 BC / 8 BC – part fact, part fiction. It gives an insight into some of the wars that the Roman army took part in during the period 49 BC / 38 BC from Quintus’s point of view. Even though the author does state that not all of the detail is fact I really enjoyed imagining what the army went through or possibly went through? I found the extra detail gave the story more [...]

    4. Fantastic novelisation of a minor character in Roman history. This was incredibly addictive and fascinating and gripped me from beginning to end. It only took me so long to read because I've been a bit out of it from having surgery.

    5. I won this book through Giveaways! The front of this book claims an 'epic rendering of Rome's civil wars' which, in part, I do agree with. Civil wars? Yes. Epic rendering? Hmm not so much. The Horse Changer spans the life of Quintus Dellius, a young man in various armies at varies points across the Roman Empire's continental frontiers. He seems to meet everyone from Julius Caesar to Cleopatra and his travels are undeniably entertaining. However it isn't a novel I'd necessarily describe as 'epic [...]

    6. Won from Part true part fiction found this quite interesting not part of history I knew a lot about. How hard life was then and so easy for you to physically lose your head and property taken off you.Battle scenes were intriguing and made you think how hard it was to actually survive them.If interested in Romans and history worth a read.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *