- By Skylar Hamilton Burris

An Unlikely Missionary

  • Title: An Unlikely Missionary
  • Author: Skylar Hamilton Burris
  • ISBN: 9780981951409
  • Page: 414
  • Format: Paperback
  • An Unlikely Missionary In the pages of Jane Austen s Pride and Prejudice Charlotte Collins seems the antithesis of romance She possesses neither beauty nor sparkling personality as she herself ruefully acknowledges Her la

    In the pages of Jane Austen s Pride and Prejudice, Charlotte Collins seems the antithesis of romance She possesses neither beauty nor sparkling personality, as she herself ruefully acknowledges Her lack of fortune and prospects forces her to adopt a pragmatic view of life, and, much to the horror of her close friend Elizabeth Darcy, she consents to marry the boorish Mr.In the pages of Jane Austen s Pride and Prejudice, Charlotte Collins seems the antithesis of romance She possesses neither beauty nor sparkling personality, as she herself ruefully acknowledges Her lack of fortune and prospects forces her to adopt a pragmatic view of life, and, much to the horror of her close friend Elizabeth Darcy, she consents to marry the boorish Mr Collins, a respectable rector From there, Ms Burris picks up the tale In this surprising sequel, the Collinses are unexpectedly sent on a missionary journey by their benefactress, Lady Catherine de Bourgh Charlotte finds herself far away from the world she once knew and the practical niche she had carved within it This new world ushers in a new cast of characters fellow missionaries, Indian villagers, and their harsh, mysterious, and handsome leader, Mr Rivers But will Charlotte s pragmatism enable her to endure tragedy, brace her for a startling revelation, and equip her to discover who she really is

    1 thought on “An Unlikely Missionary

    1. Fans of Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice rejoice! You are in for treat. As we all know, there are sequels and there are sequels. And Pride and Prejudice just may be the most popular book for budding authors to attempt to reproduce in sequence. However, getting the follow-on to read true to the original isn't something just anyone can achieve. Skylar Hamilton Burris succeeds brilliantly!In An Unlikely Missionary, Burris takes a road less traveled, in that she steers clear of the Darcys and Benne [...]

    2. Of all the women in Pride and Prejudice, Charlotte Collins must be one of the most challenging and intricate characters to reshape into an admirable and lovable heroine. Practical, pragmatic, and plain – she isn't a character that easily inspires the reader's love. And with Jane Austen marrying her off to Mr. Collins, it seems her unhappily-ever-after fate is already sealed. How will Charlotte ever find the love and happiness she deserves?Wellwe all know that if adventures (or in this case hap [...]

    3. After thoroughly enjoying Burris' Conviction, I was looking forward to An Unlikely Missionary. The story of the Collins' banishment from Lady Catherine's company missionaries is certainly a different take on Charlotte's post-wedding story. I loved the focus on Charlotte, and the insight into her thoughts. It is not an Elizabeth & Darcy story through Charlotte's eyes.I must admit that I was disappointed with the story. I felt it was too thin. I wanted to know more about the characters, the se [...]

    4. The Real Charlotte Collins? – 4.5 stars rounded up to 5A friend put me on to this book (thanks very much), and after reading the blurb and the sample I downloaded it. It begins with Mr Collin’s benefactress informing them that they will be going to India as missionaries. In due course they find themselves on board an East India vessel with five other missionaries. Charlotte tries to get to know the other missionaries, as Mr Collins is laid low with sea-sickness. Absalom Rivers seems to be an [...]

    5. Burris creates an interesting world for Charlotte in which Lady Catherine ships them both off to be missionaries to India. I actually found this to be the most difficult premise to swallow, because it is difficult to imagine that LC would actually want to get rid of her beloved sycophant. However, if you decided to suspend your disbelief, the story is engaging enough to keep you going. SPOILERS: As with any good Charlotte Collins story, Mr. Collins has to die in order for Charlotte to find love [...]

    6. After reading Conviction it seems apparent that the Author is well researched in the measures of the Christian backbone that sought to strengthen the betterment of their fellow man. She has allowed this interest to illustrate some of the difficulties faced by the missionary zeal. Anybody who has had family that became missionary's during this period will find the backdrop quite wonderful. Naturally Charlottes romantic interest with the group leader is limited by Mr Collins and her heart is broke [...]

    7. Liked itill hard to like the romance of it when its obvious she never loved Mr.Collins and then met the missionary and fell in love with him(she didn't realize). Even though I'm glad they married wasn't very romantic how they metso suggest that the plot line of Mr. Rivers (Dr Rivers, the Missionary, LT Rivers) is unbelievable that he is caught by sailors and made to serve in the Navy. Would have been better if Charlotte had seen him again when he visited England for some other reason.

    8. Mr. and Mrs. Collins are shocked to come to Lady de Burgh and find out she wants them to go be missionaries in India. They get on a boat with some other families and go, leaving behind their own son. Most of the story is told from Charlotte's point of view, but it follows their adventures--the good, the bad and the ugly. Charlotte figures out some things about herself. Will she find her happy ending? How does Mr. Collins cope with the strange food and customs?Light reading, but interesting. I al [...]

    9. 3.5 stars. Enjoyable fanfiction. I bought it because I remember reading it when the author had it posted on one of the Austen fanfiction sites several years ago.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *